Here’s a brief rundown for those just now catching on; Illmaculate is currently one of the reigning kings of the rap battle scene  (two-time World Rap Championship winner, Scribble Jam ’04 winner, GrindTimeNow, etc).

G_Force (aka Calvin Valentine) is an up-&-coming producer whose already put in work with Planet Asia, Strong Arm Steady and Talib Kweli’s Blacksmith label.

Both are two of Portland, Oregon’s brightest artists right now and they’ve joined forces for this special full-length project, a track-by-track reworking of soul legend Al Green’s 2008 comeback album, Lay It Down, produced by ?uestlove & James Poyser of The Roots.

The first single, “Oh-Luv” samples Al Green’s “You’ve Got The Love I Need” featuring Anthony Hamilton and breathes a new life into the track as G_Force chops, loops & switches up the vibe of the song, while Illmaculate gives it some new meaning. This is a follow-up to the “Lay It Down” intro video which already has a combined 25,000+ views on YouTube & Vimeo

Also announced & released today were the official cover art & tracklisting (below) for the The Green Tape , including guest appearances from Illmac’s crew, Sandpeople, plus Braille of Lightheaded, Theory Hazit of Humble Beast, Epp of TxE & more.


1. Lay It Down
2. Just 4 Me (feat. J-Rome)
3. Oh-Luv
4. No One Like Me
5. What More? (feat. Epp & Theory Hazit)
6. Take Your Time (feat. J-Rome)
7. 2 Much (feat. OnlyOne)
8. (K)New You
9. All Day (feat. Braille)
10. Cold Numbness (feat. Sandpeople)
11. Workin’ Man



Similar Posts